Forums

Typical study plan for a 2000 trying to reach 2200?

Sort:
Kraig

Hi,

I am trending around the 2000 blitz mark at the moment (3+0 time controls) and 2100 rapid mark (10+0  time controls).

I have been playing for roughly 3 years, and started out around 600 in both time controls in 2019. I've been stuck at ~2000 blitz for roughly 6 months (fluctuating between 1950 and 2050).

In order to reach 2200 blitz, what would those in that rating range or beyond suggest as the main areas a 2000 should typically focus on?

Alongside lessons, I've done probably 20,000 tactics, some king + pawn and rook endgames and some middlegame planning/positional concepts (Silmans re-assess your chess book) and more recently, starting to work on my openings - mostly driven by looking at my own results with black and white against certain replies and refining them in conjunction with comparing my openings database to an open database to see where I've played inaccurately, and then going online to find some youtube resources that explain the ideas a little better.

Moving forward, which area(s) should I focus most of my attention on now to get the biggest return on time investment?

My gut instinct seeing some other posts on the subject is actually going back to basics and simply solving more and more tactics and building up my pattern recognition skills.
Is this correct? If it is, is there a recommended way of studying this in a preferred manner beyond that of simply solving the random positions chess.com's tactic trainer presents you with - and doing these one after the other.

Are there other areas you think are 'must knows' for 2200+ (online blitz rating) or areas that are a good use of your time?

Thanks!

Schorsch10
Idk I am bad but good luck
busterlark