Forums

What is considered a beginner rating?

Sort:
NoahDr

Is 1874 a good number? I'm a beginner but I'm starting to get the hang of chess. Btw what does "rating" mean?

Analyn_Herbert

Well I think under 1000

A rating of 1874 is considered an intermediate player

Jump to: navigation, search. A chess rating system is a system used in chess to calculate an estimate of the strength of the player, based on his or her performance versus other players.

FaceCrusher

1874 USCF, an OTB rating issued by the US Chess Federation for official tournament play, is pretty damned good, and would be invincible to all normal casual players who "know how to play" chess. That guy in the office who is "kinda good" at chess or your Uncle Larry who "plays chess" would get murdered by an 1874. He would seem like a god to them. 

Beginner is about 650 actually. 900 is someone who has won a few games at their high school and is pretty decent among his friends. He gets destroyed in his first tournament. 1200s are starting to take the game kinda seriously and know some openings and some strategy. Likely won't lose to normal people anymore. 1400 is good enough to be "The guy is beats everyone's ass in chess" in his area of a small town and would be champion at a small to medium size high school. 

Chess.com ratings are hard to corrolate to USCF ratings, and while some people say subtract about 200 pts from your Chess.com rating to get your real rating, some loose studies people have done have come out to show the ratings are kinda close, and if off maybe only by 100 pts or so. 

Don't listen to the elitists who say "If you're under 1400, your a rank beginner and shouldn't read anything but 'Bob the Bunny's first Chess Book, how the pieces move." They just want to make themselves sound important by saying only they are ready for the more advanced stuff.