Forums

I'm fairly new to chess. Maintained 700 when I started a week ago, but now I keep declining...

Sort:
davidisnothingcomparetome

I've got into chess in the past week or so, I've also got a free trial of the Diamond subscription on chess. Love playing Chess, it's very fun. But over the past few days I've been playing quite badly and I dont know why. Could someone go over my profile and maybe give me some tips? Thanks.

https://www.chess.com/analysis/game/live/108747224020?tab=analysis

tygxc

@1

"I've been playing quite badly and I dont know why"
++ Analyse your lost games.

Petrosian94

From the game one can tell that a clear-cut thinking process is missing. There is not a mechanism in place to analyze your opponent's and your moves.

RussBell

Improving Your Chess - Resources for Beginners and Beyond.....

https://www.chess.com/blog/RussBell/improving-your-chess-resources-for-beginners-and-beyond

Proundfafnir
Rewuim wrote:

It's awesome that you're diving into chess with the Diamond subscription. Since you’re already putting in the time, you might want to check out ChessMood too. They’ve got some excellent courses that can really help you sharpen your game, especially when you feel stuck. Trust me, it’s worth a look.

Link to ChessMood: https://chessmood.com/?r=NationalChessBlasters

Good Luck

woah this is very helpful, and I wish you a good day!

QathetMike

Try to castle in the first 10 moves

try to move the pieces only once, in the first 10 moves

don't bring the queen out so soon

both you, and your opponent left pieces unprotected, and subject to capture, for free.

If you can take 2 different pieces, at no cost to yourself, ask which of those pieces is the bigger threat? both points and position wise.-

don't forget your opponent is also trying to win.-check to see what they are up to-before deciding what you want to do.