Forums

Im 1200 OTB but can't seem to get out of the 800 - 900 range on chess com what am i doing wrong?

Sort:
AussieVViking

Ok so at my local club we are given a rating, it's not official or anything, but from what i've learned asking around, it should be about 100 below your chess.com rating. For example a 1600 at my club is about 1450 online, and theres a 1200 in the club who's about 1100 online, I know there's no way to actually translate it directly, but it seems i should be a bit higher then I am. I play openings well, I have a strong middlegame, I'm kinda bad at endgames but I'm working on that. Is there any advice for how to get higher? I've been playing since september 2023 and I feel like despite dedicating many hours to chess every day I'm just not getting out of this elo range, even though I feel I am improving as a player. When i join the online tournaments chess.com hosts I beat 1200s and hold my own against higher elos. Is there any just general advice or videos for me to watch? I've watched john bartholomews stuff and Chessbrahs building habits series. Is the trick really to just keep playing games until I improve? I mainly play 5 minute blitz and 10 minute rapid btw.

ShivangMethipro

what

RussBell

Improving Your Chess - Resources for Beginners and Beyond.....

https://www.chess.com/blog/RussBell/improving-your-chess-resources-for-beginners-and-beyond

GooseChess

I think the difference is you probably play slower in person than you do online. Having a human across from you encourages you to use time early. Let's look at your 3 most recent rapid losses, I'm sure these are frustrating to revisit and there's context I don't have but hopefully you'll find it useful.

Your most recent game is the clearest example. You played Nd4 in 8 seconds and ultimately ended the game with more time than you started with. In person you might have played this slower.