Forums

Advice for someone struggling at 200 elo range

Sort:
Minor_King

Hello, I just started playing chess this week. I knew the basics from before but never really bothered to learn past how the pieces moves. Now I am really trying to impove, I watch my replays I try to understand what I did wrong and I watch videos with advice and follow the lessons here on the site but I just can't stop loosing..
A couple of days ago I didn't struggle that much against 400 elo players but now literally everyone is a tough opponent!

I don't know what happened to me, maybe I'm not cut out for this

Chess_Player_lol

chess is a hard game and it takes time to learn. Don't be discouraged about losing some games. Keep up the hard work!

busterlark
Just looked over a couple games. Honestly, you just need to stop hanging pieces and look for more tactics on the board. If you hang half the pieces you currently do, you should shoot up to 1000 easily, I would guess.
KMWS

228 games in the past 7 days :shock i would try playing 1 game of 30 mins or longer. Use the time to think. Go over your game and learn from it. Then when not playing your one 30 min game try solving 10-15 puzzles. If your looking for improvment this approach might yeild you better results in the long run. But if you just want to play for fun and dont care by all means play as much blitz as you want. I should be playing more rapid then blitz myself lol

autumncurtis

Focus on 1 thing until you hit like 1200, before you make a move simply ask the question, "can my opponent take that for free if I put it there?" If the answer is yes, don't put it there and find a different move 😊 once you climb to maybe 1000 then perhaps look at other chess ideas 😊 tactics/puzzles are your friend 🧡

autumncurtis
KMWS wrote: