Forums

HOW MUCH TIME DOES IT TAKE TO REACH 1500 ELO?

Sort:
wbproyt

I started playing Chess in April 2023 and my rating was 531 after 1 month lol. After that, I study a lot and play/watch chess 12-15 hours a day for the next whole month. Currently, my rating is 850. I just gained around 320+ points in the last 3 weeks.

I actually started Chess because I want to get admission to University, but unfortunately, my marks were not up to the merit and I do not have any other sports through which I could get admission through Sports Quota.

I decided to practice Chess and currently, I am pretty confident that I can do this. My Chess Competition for university is in September so I have 3 months time for my preparation. I have to win 5 consecutive games to win my seat at the university.

What do you guys think should be my target for the next 3 months? Currently, I have set that to 1500 but I've heard it took years to reach 1500. 

Each reply means a lot to me happy.png

shijauddin

Do not just watch videos and play games, but study openings, traps, middle game positions, analyse your games.

shijauddin

In the second part play a tournament every 15 days, play and analyse the mistakes from both the sides.

joshua33682
Urrr play a lot or something
KeSetoKaiba

It depends on how much you practice, study and learn. Do you know how long it takes most people to reach 1500 chess rating? Never. sad.png Sadly, most people will never reach 1500. The global average rating is roughly 600 (even though it varies a few hundred points based on rating pool and rating system used) and rating is tougher to gain the higher you get due to the nature of the rating system and opponents playing tougher to give you a smaller margin of error. The good news for you is that 1500 is still reachable; it is just that most people don't have the time and dedication to make it to this level.