Forums

Chessbase 10 or Chessbase Reader 2013?

Sort:
binchun

I have chessbase 10 but there are newer chessbase versions now. I don't want to buy the newer vesions but I've heard that chessbase reader 2013 is free. Is it better than chessbase 10?

transformation

no.

dont bother.  i am a chessBase expert, from A to Z.

CB 11 has terrible problems, if I could, I'd go back to CB9 which gave me no, zero problems over half a decade.

CB 12 is a just a bow on top of the same hat.  Difference, are slight, mainly about cloud.

Here is the rub.  CBR will only allow you to read game files, not create or edit those.

Bottom line, CB 10 to 12 has no meaningful difference, might even be better.  As they made Updates to CB11, now up over thirty five, there are MANY things that broke, not improved.

CB knows me, I have writen them, they have problems.

i actually installed updates thirty+ on CB11, and some things helped, then at update 35 they ruined it, a shocker.  I had to reinstal the fresh version, and am AFFRAID to run update 36, for fear its even worse, I have to choose which problems to have, seriously.

Crashing, problems with save game, problem with history, stunning.  But if you are serious about chess, got to have it.

If CB 10 does not crash, saves game records properly, be glad you have it, and leave it the F alone, seriously.  In all this change, things got really messed up.  I have used CB daily since 2006, expert is not a term I just throw around.

I just never had CB 10, so don't know if it got buggy like CB11, which had big problems.  Then they fixed them.  Then in the end, you cannot get update 27 or 28 or 29, but must get the lattest, and update 35 was a ruin, a total ruin, I was so angry at them.

They asked me to write a list of issues for them.  Excuse me?  No.  Give me a new version, then I will give you the free consultation, no ticky no shirty.